14 September, 2013

Playlist - 14 September 2013

This week, another diverse serving of prog rock and anything else that fits from Australia and overseas. New music from the Australian band Hibernal and some new but slightly retro sounding electronica from Adelaide's Urtekk, as well as classic music from Tamam Shud, Flake and Fraternity from the early 1970's. And it's happy birthday to singer Maggie Reilly (Mike Oldfield) and the late bass player Lee Dorman (Iron Butterfly, Captain Beyond).

Fraternity    Seasons of Change (1971) (Golden Miles: Australian Progressive Rock 1969 - 1974)
Procol Harum    Cerdes (outside the gates of) (1967) (Procol Harum)
Flake    Under the silent tree (1971) (How’s Your Mother)
Tamam Shud    First things first (1972) (Morning Of The Earth, soundtrack)
Haken    The mind’s eye + Portals + Shapeshifter (2011) (Visions)
Mike Oldfield    To France (1984) (Discovery)
Mike Oldfield    Moonlight shadow (1983) (Crises)
XII Alfonso (feat. Maggie Reilly)    Earliest recollection (2012) (Charles Darwin)
Hibernal    This high + Downward + An open door + Home + Losing touch (2013) (The Machine)
Ozric Tentacles    Dots thots (1984) (Erpsongs)
Hawkwind    Motorway city (1980)  (Levitation)
Captain Beyond    Dancing madly backwards (on a sea of air) (1972) (Captain Beyond)
Captain Beyond    Starglow energy (1973) (Sufficiently Breathless)
Iron Butterfly    In-A-Gadda-Da-Vidda (1968) (In-A-Gadda-Da-Vidda)
Steeleye Span    Montrose (live, 1978) (Live At Last)
The Merlin Bird    Rhyme to reason + Reason to rhyme (2003) (Rhyme To Reason)
Urtekk    Euphonics (2013) (Urtekk EP)

No comments:

Post a Comment