05 April, 2014

Playlist - 5 April 2014

This week, another diverse serving of prog rock and anything else that fits from Australia and around the world, including recent music from Adelaide (Hawkai, Sympathy Orchestra) and from interstate (Ben Craven, Myriad and Mushroom Giant), plus classic recordings from 1975 (Sebastian Hardie and the experimental "classical rock" group Rainbow Theatre). And it's happy birthday to David LaFlamme, leader of the classic US band It's A Beautiful Day.

Myriad    Reminded (2013) (Quietitude)
The Flower Kings    Last minute on earth (2001) (The Rainmaker)
Yes    Perpetual change (1971)  (The Yes Album)
Yes    The man you always wanted me to be (2011) (Fly From Here)
Hawkai    Invisible man (2012) (Prey)
Ben Craven & The Section    Golden band (2014) (Dissected)
Andy Salvanos    Mind your matter (2007) (Closer)
Rainbow Theatre    Petworth House (1975) (The Armada)
Sebastian Hardie    Openings (1975) (The Four Moments / Four Moments Of The Windchase)
Ozric Tentacles    Neurochasm (1995) (Become The Other)
Kate Bush    Moving + The saxophone song (1978) (The Kick Inside)
The Alan Parsons Project    What goes up + The eagle will ride again (1978) (Pyramid)
It’s A Beautiful Day    White bird (1969)  (It’s A Beautiful Day)
Roger Hodgson    Breakfast in America + The Logical song (live, 2010) (Classics Live)
Mushroom Giant    Aesong (2012) (The Drake Equation EP)
Porcupine Tree    Russia on ice/The pills I’m taking (live, 2010) (2013) (Octane Twisted)
Porcupine Tree    Stranger by the minute (1999) (Stupid Dream)
Beardfish    Tightrope (2011) (Mammoth)
Sympathy Orchestra    Mystic peanut (2014) (Sword Machine)

A little more information about Rainbow Theatre, including an interview with Julian Browning.

No comments:

Post a Comment